Dumplin'

Dumplin'

Go Big or Go Home

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
41
6
2
 …

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine--self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson--from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary. With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine--Dumplin' is guaranteed to steal your heart.

Dubbed "Dumplin'" by her former beauty queen mom, Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked . . .  until Will takes a job at Harpy's, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn't surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back.  

Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself. So she sets out to take back her confidence by doing the most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Teen Blue Bonnet Pageant--along with several other unlikely candidates--to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any twiggy girl does. Along the way, she'll shock the hell out of Clover City--and maybe herself most of all.

Publisher: New York : Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, ©2015.
ISBN: 9780062327185
Characteristics: 375 pages ;,22 cm
Alternative Title: Dumpling

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
m
MourningStar
Jan 05, 2019

South YA

a
alyssaburns28
Dec 19, 2018

This book is way better than the Netflix movie. Was going to give it a 5 as I couldn't put it down, however the middle seemed to drag out a little bit. Quick and easy read. Loved the meaning behind it.

l
leslie_d_
Dec 12, 2018

Willowdean “Dumplin’” Dickson holds two rare distinctions in young adult fiction as being a heroine of her own story who is comfortable in her own skin and who is fat.

Julie Murphy writes a funny, charming and empowering novel in Dumplin. She’s thoughtful and smart about it; she challenges and entertains…all marks of a great storyteller. It was worth the risk to return to high school drama for this one. An adult character laments, “I wish I would’ve had friends that were going after things they weren’t supposed to have.” These are the friends and stories Julie Murphy writes, pushing back against the cultural scripts where few, if any, are allowed/deserving to be who they really are.

c
cannotbeheard
Dec 05, 2018

Originally I thought I would give this a 5 star but brought it down because of the ending. Without spoiling anything, I will say, it felt incomplete. I enjoyed the book and I would recommend it. Especially to anyone who has never struggled with their weight. I could relate to the main character a lot. She was spot on with her insecurities, and with how it feels to try to have confidence and how people will still bring you down. If you've never experienced some of the things Willowdean describes in this book, I think this will put it into perspective so that you can understand how some things come across and why people can be sensitive to certain things. Overall this had a good message and I am excited to read the next one.

In Dumplin’, we meet Willowdean, a 16-year-old girl a little on the chubbier side who lives in a small Texas town. Willowdean is confident and funny–and crushing hard on the cute jock who works at the fast food restaurant with her. Willowdean’s self image and self-confidence get skewed when she discovers that her crush likes her back. All of a sudden, she’s anxious about how people will view them as a couple. On a whim, she decides to enter the town beauty pageant run by her mother with a number of misfits from school. This young adult book was charming and engrossing. I finished it in a day. (Submitted by Meghan).

JCLHeatherM Nov 13, 2018

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder in Julie Murphy's novel - soon to be a major motion picture.

l
Linyarai
Sep 11, 2018

I really enjoyed this book, I thought it was a great story of a young girl and her perspective growing up in pageant culture. I'm looking forward to the second book, and the movie.

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Aug 17, 2018

Dumplin', by the author Julie Murphy, is a very interesting book. This book is about a teenage girl named Willowdean that considers herself a plus-size. She is a daughter of a former beauty pageant queen. Willowdean - her mother calls her Dumplin' - was being pressured by her mother to diet with her so Will can also sign up for the pageant. I very much enjoyed reading this novel. It really touched me that many teenagers deal with body shame. An area of the novel that I had not liked was every time Willowdean introduces herself, she would call herself "fat". Overall, this book was very heartwarming and full of comedy. I strongly rate this book a 9/10.
- @YoumnaLovesBooks of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

ArapahoeKayla Jul 27, 2018

Started with the book ended with the audio, I recommend either. Such a refreshing and much needed voice, the characters were incredibly relatable and unique, and the plot had me both surprised and happy with the outcome.

v
violet_deer_295
Jul 26, 2018

Absoutly amazing! I was having some trouble accepting the way I look, and this book totally boosted my confindence! Will for sure read more books by this author!

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
l
leslie_d_
Dec 12, 2018

“I wish I would’ve had friends that were going after things they weren’t supposed to have.”

l
leslie_d_
Dec 12, 2018

“If you don’t’ sign that form, you’re saying I’m not good enough. You’re saying that most every girl in that room right now is prettier and more deserving than me. That’s what you’re telling me.”

l
leslie_d_
Dec 12, 2018

“You don’t deserve to win anything or be in any pageant until you make the effort and do the work. maybe fat girls or girls with limps or girls with big teeth don’t usually win beauty pageants. Maybe that’s not the norm. but the only way to change that is to be present. We can’t expect the same things these other girls do until we demand it. Because no one’s lining up to give us sh*t, Will.”

l
leslie_d_
Dec 12, 2018

“There’s something about swimsuits that make you think you’ve got to earn the right to wear them. And that’s wrong. Really, the criteria is simple. Do you have a body? Put a swimsuit on it.”

k
KaseyNB
Apr 14, 2017

“I've wasted a lot of time in my life. I've thought too much about what people will say or what they're gonna think. And sometimes it's over silly things like going to the grocery store or going to the post office. But there have been times when I really stopped myself from doing something special. All because I was scared someone might look at me and decide I wasn't good enough. But you don't have to bother with that nonsense. I wasted all that time so you don't have to.”

k
KaseyNB
Apr 14, 2017

“I think maybe it’s the things we don’t want to talk about that are the things people most want to hear.”

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
p
pink_panther_225
Oct 26, 2016

pink_panther_225 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

j
jmli
Sep 05, 2016

jmli thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary
j
jmli
Sep 05, 2016

Fat girl Willowdean Dickson enters a beauty pageant.

Notices

Add Notices
p
pink_panther_225
Oct 26, 2016

Other: This book contains a little bit of bad language including the "F word". It's not very frequently occurring. Their is also minor talk about sex and other related talk. Nothing is described just mentioned.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top