Dumplin'

Dumplin'

Go Big or Go Home

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
31
2
2
 …

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine--self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson--from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary. With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine--Dumplin' is guaranteed to steal your heart.

Dubbed "Dumplin'" by her former beauty queen mom, Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked . . .  until Will takes a job at Harpy's, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn't surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back.  

Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself. So she sets out to take back her confidence by doing the most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Teen Blue Bonnet Pageant--along with several other unlikely candidates--to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any twiggy girl does. Along the way, she'll shock the hell out of Clover City--and maybe herself most of all.

Publisher: New York : Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, ©2015.
ISBN: 9780062327185
Characteristics: 375 pages ;,22 cm
Alternative Title: Dumpling

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

n
noraboumaraf
Apr 14, 2018

In Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy, Willowdean Dickson, who describes herself as a”fat girl”, struggles in her beauty-pageant-obsessed town with her body image. Will spends her life with her mother and best friend, who were both conventional beauties, and related only to her aunt Lucy, who died of a heart attack before the book began. She begins the novel as a girl who is fairly comfortable in her own skin, but has moments when she feels abnormal. She then hits it off with a boy she thinks is extremely attractive and has the time of her life with him, but with one major downside: when she's with him, she feels insecure, but she doesn't see why she should feel that way. She joins the ever-popular beauty pageant in Clover City, which her beauty queen mother runs, to prove to the town and most of all, herself, that anyone can be a beauty queen.
Surprisingly, I enjoyed the novel moderately, seeing as this kind of book is not exactly the type of thing I usually read. It was a good contemporary novel and dealt with a spectrum of body image issues, focusing on weight. Such issues are very prevalent today, and I think it's safe to say that most people, regardless of age, race or gender have experienced them at one point or another. The author did a wonderful job of mixing in familial and relationship conflicts without necessarily making them central but rather focusing on Will’s internal struggles at the beginning, but they later bled into the struggles of other girls, morphing them into a shared issue. I believe that more realistically these types of issues are not shared with other people and remain within oneself. I was also left with many questions at the end, but I felt that the outcome of the sequence of events itself was unpredictable and suited the characters themselves. I thought it was a nice change from the usual traditional beauties who star in most books aimed at the teenage demographic redefines beauty standards as ridiculous and unimportant rather than something to actively strive for in order to live a complete life. Just a little heads up, the book contains a substantial amount of cursing and romance, so if that bothers you a whole lot I suggest you keep away. I recommend this for people who are looking for a book that deals with such internal struggles as well as family, friendship and relationship issues. I also highly recommend this for anyone who enjoys contemporary novels.

m
mema00636
Mar 29, 2018

I just finished Dumplin’ and I am so happy I found this book! The story of Willowdean is captivating, relatable, emotional, and sometimes humourous. I truly loved this book.

SPPL_Anna Mar 24, 2018

When I finished Dumplin' I felt like I finally released a breath I didn't realize I was holding. Willowdean's insecurities coupled with her bold attitude really resonated with me.

JCLKariE Feb 28, 2018

Willowdean is my new hero! Her dialogue is hilarious. This book has it all: Dolly Parton, beauty pageants, and boys, It also grapples with tough issues: body image, fights with your best friend, and a confusing boy. I laughed. I cried. I enjoyed every part of this book thoroughly.

w
white_ferret_12
Feb 14, 2018

This book really sticks out to me because it all seems so real. What Will goes through just sticks to me because it shows what real struggles that people with bodies that are different from the 'norm' are forced to think and go through because culture has shaped them to beliving these things. I reccomend these books for everyone who wants an honest tale that has a bit of a suprise ending!

samcmar Oct 17, 2017

I am a sucker for books about beauty pageants (seriously, Miss Congeniality, folks!) and
Dumplin' is one of those reads that is full of heart and body positive. It's a book that doesn't sham those who are bigger, and Willowdean is a heroine worth rooting for. Julie Murphy continues to be one of those writer's who understands such deeply personal issues for teens. Seriously, this a fun read.

GCPL_Teen Aug 22, 2017

Though this book is body positive, the plot and character development leaves something to be desired.

p
parnoosh
Aug 11, 2017

This was such an empowering book. It had a very interesting plot line. It's message was very strong and it definitely is one of my favourite books. It shows that it doesn't matter how skinny or fat you are, you should always respect others and be respected.

d
darladoodles
Jan 27, 2017

This was a fun read. Willowdean is a lovable character and you root for her as she makes her own way. Love the Dolly Parton theme. Looking forward to more books about Dumplin'.

v
virgogirl73
Dec 19, 2016

This was a great book, couldn't put it down. In this day it's refreshing to read a book about body positivity or just being comfortable with who you are and not caring what other ppl think of you.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

p
pink_panther_225
Oct 26, 2016

pink_panther_225 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

j
jmli
Sep 05, 2016

jmli thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Quotes

Add a Quote

k
KaseyNB
Apr 14, 2017

“I've wasted a lot of time in my life. I've thought too much about what people will say or what they're gonna think. And sometimes it's over silly things like going to the grocery store or going to the post office. But there have been times when I really stopped myself from doing something special. All because I was scared someone might look at me and decide I wasn't good enough. But you don't have to bother with that nonsense. I wasted all that time so you don't have to.”

k
KaseyNB
Apr 14, 2017

“I think maybe it’s the things we don’t want to talk about that are the things people most want to hear.”

Summary

Add a Summary

j
jmli
Sep 05, 2016

Fat girl Willowdean Dickson enters a beauty pageant.

Notices

Add Notices

p
pink_panther_225
Oct 26, 2016

Other: This book contains a little bit of bad language including the "F word". It's not very frequently occurring. Their is also minor talk about sex and other related talk. Nothing is described just mentioned.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top