Furyborn

Furyborn

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
12
4
Rielle may prove to be one of the Prophesized Queens, if she survives the trials, and a thousand years later bounty hunter Eliana helps a girl who could be the answer to the prophecy.
Publisher: Naperville, Illinois : Sourcebooks Fire, ©2018.
ISBN: 9781492673002
Characteristics: 501 pages :,illustrations, map ;,23 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

PimaLib_ChristineR Sep 08, 2018

4.5 ⭐ Let's get the very minor bad out of the way: this was a tough book to get into. We have a prologuey sort of thing that basically tells you what's going to happen by the end of the book. Then there's the split timeline to deal with. Despite all that, the detail and intricacy of this plot is mindblowing. I was really expecting another Assassin/Badass/Queen combo but this book has, in my reading at least, a completely unique storyline, which in the world of YA fantasy right now, is refreshing. And sexy bits that don't make you want to cringe! Assassins that kill people they're hired too, even when it's the good guys! So, basically a fully-formed world with fully-formed, understandable characters.

l
Linyarai
Aug 28, 2018

I'm sort of torn, at first I didn't love it and I didn't like each chapter flipping between the two characters. It felt like there were two complete plots being wedged into one book. Near the end though they both really picked up and I couldn't put the book down, and I was frequently surprised by some of the characters.

j
jesand
Aug 24, 2018

Aj

kirstd31 Aug 23, 2018

I enjoyed the book. I will read the next one, but the story did remind me of other fantasy books that I have read.

r
readfox
Aug 01, 2018

I loved this story. The world is rich and complex, and this book only scratched the surface of an intricate mythology hinted at. The characters are multi-dimensional and believable. The two leads are badass yet jarringly imperfect, which is much more interesting than a stereotypical young-adult female lead. I love the way the book is formatted, with the two leads from different times splitting focus. It is so much fun to try to piece together how the events Rielle's time affect and are remembered in Eliana's. While the book does rely on many common young-adult fiction tropes, it is still enjoyable and has its own share of surprises. Fans of The Hunger Games and Song of Ice and Fire series will love this book. I can't wait for the next one to come out.

OPL_KrisC Jul 19, 2018

Lots of magic and intrigue as well as a gorgeous cover are sure to draw readers into this story.

v
violet_dog_6087
Jun 30, 2018

Though I am not normally into fantasy I found myself immersed in a brilliantly written action packed world where the heroines were daunting and empowering. I loved this book and would definitely recommend it!!

p
pvessa
Jun 08, 2018

Not appropriate for young people. This should not have been classified as YA. Both heroines kill without remorse. One heroine is an assassin with multiple lovers of both sexes, prostitution, children in brothels, violence, and sex. I don't want my teens reading the series.

z
zebarnetts
May 23, 2018

I'll give it to the author, this book had so much potential! The premise was really intriguing, something I've never really seen before in YA, but when the book played out it really fell flat for me. I lost interest about 60% in. Legrand tries so hard to make a complex and compelling plot, with characters that should fit right in, but they ended up feeling stale, recycled and two-dimensional. Even though this is only the first book in the trilogy, I had so many questions that seemed crucial to the plot that the author left completely unanswered, such as how any of the elemental magic works, or about the motives of the Angels. Overall it was really confusing, it felt very rushed, and there weren't that many memorable characters, as most of them fell into stereotypical typecasts of YA. Here's hoping Legrand will redeem herself in the next book.

d
darladoodles
May 08, 2018

For me this one did not live up to the hype. I found myself wanting this one to be over rather than savoring the story. The parallel narratives were too disjointed for me to see the characters connecting even when we find out the true link between them. Plus the backstory is out there lurking, unexplained. Most especially -- the Angels. Are they all bad? Are some good? How much time has elapsed from the prologue to Eliana's story? In the end, I am fine to leave this as a standalone and invest my time in other books/series in the future.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

r
readfox
Aug 01, 2018

readfox thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

OPL_KrisC Jul 19, 2018

OPL_KrisC thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

ArapahoeStaff1 Jul 10, 2018

ArapahoeStaff1 thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

z
zebarnetts
May 24, 2018

zebarnetts thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top