The Four Seasons

The Four Seasons

Uncovering Nature

Book - 2006
Average Rating:
Rate this:

Why do seasons happen? Where do animals go in winter? How do plants reproduce?

From changes in the plant world through the year, to penguins preparing a nest, and puma kittens learning to hunt, plants and animals from every corner of the world are used to illustrate the many processes that govern natural life. These include metamorphosis, hibernation, migration, pollination, plus the many environments in which they occur, such as savanna, swamp, jungle, and deciduous woodland.

The four acetate overlays feature:

Winter to Spring : the Himalayan Mountains change Spring to Summer : a South American pampas over time Summer to Fall : deciduous woodlands turn with the season Fall to Winter : a conifer forest prepares for the cold.

The Uncovering series: Exposing science and technology in stunning color and detail.

Jam-packed with exacting full-color illustrations, these titles focus on topics of particular interest to young readers. Informative text and descriptive captions and sidebars complement dozens of annotated drawings. Each book contains four acetate overlays, used in some cases to show changes over time, in others to show a cutaway interior.

Publisher: Richmond Hill, ON : Firefly Books, 2006.
ISBN: 9781554071371
Characteristics: 52 p. :,ill. ;,31 cm.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors


Subject Headings


Find it at Library

To Top