The Hunting Party

The Hunting Party

A Novel

eBook - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
20

AN INSTANT SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

NAMED ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED THRILLERS OF THE WINTER BY:

Goodreads • BookBub • PopSugar • BookRiot • Crimereads • Pure Wow • Crime by the Book

ALL OF THEM ARE FRIENDS. ONE OF THEM IS A KILLER.

"A ripping, riveting murder mystery — wily as Agatha Christie, charged with real menace, real depth. Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware." – A.J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they've chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group's tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year's Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now, on New Year's Day, one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.

DON'T BE LEFT OUT. JOIN THE PARTY NOW.


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
g
gloryb
Apr 21, 2021

Another book with chapters headed with the names of a character who gives their perspective on the present and past actions of their friends. Quite a few characters to get to know. While the author drops little clues about each character's personality traits and the different relationships among this group of friends, I felt I needed to take notes to remember these clues. The characters when we meet them taking a train to a weekend resort in Scotland for a New Year's Party aren't likable. I couldn't warm up to them as the author lets them reminiscence about their college days, sometimes in a catty way. Too much drinking, too much oogling of and flirting with men, actions which couldn't keep my attention, even though the author promises, with her clues, that tension will be rising shortly as not everything is right with this group of weekend holidaymakers.

s
sunnyfeline
Mar 31, 2021

I personally liked "The Guest List" better but still enjoyed reading this book because you can't go wrong with a murder, a remote location, and whodunit. The plot is VERY similar to Ruth Ware's "One By One" book with friends staying at a lodge in a very isolated area and they soon become trapped because of a snowstorm. It's a fun suspense thriller book if you're looking for something that's easy and quick to read.

o
ownedbydoxies
Mar 30, 2021

Her books all seem very similar, but that being said this one seemed (to me) to really drag along. It was an okay way to spend some time reading, but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

a
A1305846801
Jan 25, 2021

The precursor to the Guest List. This is another immensely enjoyable whodunit from Ms. Foley. Lucy Foley knows how to spin a yarn.

b
Bookworm1136
Oct 17, 2020

4 - 4 1/s star read. This thriller was a good read and had a lot of twists and turns along the way. A group of old friends who met at Oxford has an annual New Year's Eve getaway. This year, it is Emma's turn and she has picked a hunting lodge in a remote part of the Highlands in Scotland. Everyone arrives and soon begins to party, but as the time goes on, in flashbacks, cracks in the foundations of the friendships and some of the marriages begin to appear. And when one of the party disappears and is later found dead amidst a blizzard, it soon becomes apparent that someone in their little group of friends might just be a murderer. But who is is? A very compelling read and it kept me turning the pages.

c
Cidherman
Sep 14, 2020

Talented writing brings THE HUNTING PARTY to life.

Reviewed in the United States on September 13, 2020

Lucy Foley is an excellent writer. She has the ability to create fully realistic characters that her readers can understand and empathize with. She seems to be able to do this with more than one character, building them up by the use of alternating viewpoints, making them increasingly realistic, as the plot unfolds.

Both novels i have read by her, THE HUNTING PARTY and THE GUEST LIST follow a familiar plot line, where a captive group of people become trapped with an unknown killer among them. Agatha Christie's AND THEN THERE WERE NONE (also title TEN LITTLE INDIANS), was the first to thrill readers, using this plot device. I doubt Christie's masterpiece will ever be improved upon. That doesn't mean THE HUNTING PARTY isn't enjoyable or entertaining, because it is. The writer's skill holds the readers interest and keeps it.

Lucy Foley has another unusual talent, that bring her stories to life, one she shares with one of my favorite authors, Loreth Ann White. Foley and White are able to turn the setting for their stories into an almost tangible evil, insidiously plotting against their characters thwarting their attempts to escape their dire circumstances.

THE HUNTING PARTY is entertaining, but I would love to see the author use that talent with a more original, less formula-like plot. With her talent, the possibilities are unlimited.

Talented writing brings THE HUNTING PARTY to life.

a
Alpha_zzz
Sep 07, 2020

This isn’t a bad read. I would recommend it. It has several characters who are interlinked through school and friend associations. Their backstories come out through a reunion at a remote lodge in Scotland. And then there is a murder of one of the key players. Who in the group, most likely, killed him/her?
The only dislike of this book is that someone can be reminiscing about the past and in the next paragraph go straight into the present without making a smooth segue.

WPL_Jaclyn Aug 19, 2020

Wow! I couldn't put this one down! Generally, I'm not much of a fan of thrillers (or unlikable characters), but there was something about this mystery that I just couldn't put down. A group of thirtysomethings (none of whom are really likable) head to the Scottish Highlands to celebrate New Years. Almost immediately readers know that one of them is dead, but which has been murdered and who did it? Highly entertaining.

GSP2104 Apr 07, 2020

Thoroughly enjoyable. The writing style is quick and sharp, not overly descriptive. A great suspenseful novel where the plot unravels slowly with several twists.

c
Commacontrol
Apr 02, 2020

This book was okay. Descriptions of the lodge and the area of Scotland were good, but the characters weren't very likeable and I never got attached to any of them. The identify of the victim is kept from the reader but was fairly easy to guess. A bit of twist as to the killer though.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top